Valdosta Symphony Orchestra concludes season with “Restoration”

The Valdosta Symphony Orchestra concludes the season with “Restoration” tonight at 7:30 p.m. The concert archive link can be purchased by calling (229) 333-2150 and leaving a message. No tickets will be sold at the door.

Strauss composed his lyrical Serenade when he was 17, giving us a tantalizing glimpse of the master he would become. Stravinsky’s spiky Octet combines baroque style with jazz influences, all expressed in his own unique voice. Daugherty’s muscular work for brass and percussion honors the medical community. Grieg’s spirited take on a baroque dance suite has become one of his most beloved works.

May 1, 2021 • 7:30 pm • Whitehead Auditorium
Beethoven, Zapfenstreich March
Strauss, Serenade in E-flat Major, Op. 7
Stravinsky, Octet
Daugherty, Asclepius
Grieg, Holberg Suite